By Nava Gross


Prologue

I heard a short, scratching sound at the door. One scratch after another; scratch, scratch, scratch, scratch... I looked at my sister, Carla.

"What's going on?" I whispered, "Whats happening?"

"Shhh," Carla said comfortingly. "Everything will be alright. "

My sister was really brave. She turned and told me to hide.

"Why?" I asked.

"Because, you're only 10; you shouldn't have to go through this."

"Through what?"

"I cant explain right now. Do you remember the phone number I gave you?"

I nodded.

"Good; you must call her right after I leave; she'll explain everything to you."

"But where are you going?"

"I don't know."

The conversation seemed to take hours, but I knew it had only been a few minutes because there was still scratching at the door; but now i could hear a dog barking and a man yelling to come outside. I couldn't make out the rest of what he said over the noise, but Carla did.

Carla turned to me. I could see fear in her eyes because Mommy and Daddy never came back. She knew she might not come back too, but she tried to hide it. She kissed my forehead, gave me one last hug that could have lasted forever, and said, "Now hide!"

"I love you!", I said with tears in my eyes.

"I love you, too!" she said, her voice catching as she wiped away tears that had begun rolling down her cheeks. "And don't forget to call the number I gave you! I'll come back soon, don't worry."

She stood up then stopped and crouched next to me again. "I promise I'll come back," she said determinedly, placing my hand where I could feel her heart beating; a calmness that defied all reason to exist.

The man pounded on the door; he seemed angry. I felt Carla's heart skip a beat, speeding up so that the calmness became a raging tide of terror.

Carla talked faster, "Be like the little engine that could, never give up. You'll be in my heart every second. Goodbye, Misty."

She stood up; she was trembling, forcing her lungs to take deep breaths. I reached for her hand and kissed it.

"Goodbye." I closed my eyes and my hand felt cold where Carla's had just been. I was crying now, the tears were uncontrollable. I knew this could be the last time I ever saw my sister, but I forced myself to be quiet so they wouldn't find me; whoever they were. I lay there, under the bed, watching, as they led Carla away.


Go To Top